Print E-mail

Online Research Library

 

 

Online Catalog

Search for books & media (videos, CDs, etc.), check your library account, reserve or renew a book. You will need your library card number and a PIN to reserve a book.  Unless you've changed it, the PIN is the last 4 digits of your phone number.


Web Link Library

These links were selected by librarians to help you navigate the World Wide Web. Local links are included.



Online Databases
 

Most of these databases are available from home with a valid library card from a public library in Albany or Rensselaer County. Ancestry, Heritage Quest, and Testing and Education Reference Center require an East Greenbush or Schodack card.  If you have trouble reaching the databases from this page, most are available on the Upper Hudson Library System website.

 

Multi-Subject | Biography & Genealogy | Books & Literature | Business | Education

Health & Science | Kids & Homework  | Magazines & Newspapers


Multi-Subject

 

Academic OneFile

This database contains over 12,000 journals and reference sources, many of which are peer-reviewed and full text. It has extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

*If you have difficulty logging in, try clearing your browser's history.  How?

 

Directory of Open Access Journals

Search and access free, full text articles from quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

 

General OneFile

This general periodical database contains over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, healthcare, politics and more. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

*If you have difficulty logging in, try clearing your browser's history.  How?


Biography & Genealogy

 

Ancestry.com

With more than 5 billion names and 23,000 searchable databases, Ancestry.com is an online source for family history information, including the web's largest collection of historical records.  In library use only, not available from home or office.

 

Heritage Questin-library | from home

ProQuest Information and Learning's HeritageQuest Online provides libraries with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. East Greenbush or Schodack library card required for access.


Books & Literature

 

Twayne's Author Series

Twayne World, U.S., and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, U.S., or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

Return to Top

 

Business

 

Business Insights: Essentials

Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

Computers

Computer Database

A collection of popular magazine and journal articles about computer hardware and software. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)
 

 

Education

 

Primary Search

Full text of 57 children's magazines plus almanacs and an encyclopedia. Useful for finding short stories, crafts, games, puzzles, recipes, classroom activities and more. (For a more graphical interface, see Searchasaurus.) (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

Testing & Education Reference Center

Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals. East Greenbush or Schodack library card required for access.
 

Grolier Online: in-library | from home (includes Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and The New Book of KnowledgeComing soonLa Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, Amazing Animals of the World, The New Book of Popular Science, America the Beautiful, and Lands and Peoples.)

Encyclopedia articles include links to further readings, a bibliography, selected full text articles, web page links, and links to related Encyclopedia Americana articles.   The Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia includes encyclopedia articles, news, timelines, quizzes and games, and research starters. It also includes an atlas and dictionary. The New Book of Knowledge is for middle grade students and includes literary selections, a timeline, projects and experiments, news, homework help and more.  (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

Return to Top


Health & Science

 

Health Reference Center Academic

This health database includes over 2800 journals and magazines, many of which are full text. It contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

*If you have difficulty logging in, try clearing your browser's history.  How?

 

Salem Health

Online access to several health reference sources, including Cancer, Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Genetics & Inherited Diseases, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Magill's Medical Guide, Psychology & Mental Health, and Addictions & Substance Abuse. Coming soon: Teen Health.


Kids & Homework

 

Kids Search by EBSCOhost

Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

 

Primary Search

Contains full text of 57 children's magazines plus almanacs and an encyclopedia. Indexing and abstracting for 80+ titles. (For a more graphical interface, see Searchasaurus.) (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

Searchasaurus

An interface to Primary Search, which contains full-text articles from elementary school magazines, an encyclopedia and a dictionary. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

Twayne's Author Series

Twayne World, U.S., and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, U.S., or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

Return to Top

 

Magazines and Newspapers
 

Infotrac Newsstand

Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

Google Books: Magazines

Browse magazines and preview articles by subject.

 

National Newspaper Index

National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

New York History Online

The New York State Historical Association’s quarterly, New York History, is the only journal devoted entirely to the history of New York State.  New York History is a must read for those seeking an in-depth look at the events that shaped the history of the United States. In library use only, not available from home or office.

 

New York State Newspapers

Search this database of ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post. (Supported by the NOVEL project.)

 

Return to Top

 

 

Last Updated on Thursday, 16 May 2013 12:02
 

 

East Greenbush Community Library | 10 Community Way | East Greenbush, NY 12061  
Ph. 518-477-7476 | Fax 518-477-6692 | Hours | Directions | Contact Us | Site Map

Privacy Policy popup iconpdf icon